Skip to content

EA Sports 30 Day Challenge Introduction

May 18, 2009

I’ve been looking forward to the launch of EA Sports Active for some time now. I have Wii Fit, and have been using it fairly regularly. As fun as it is, I know it’s not enough exercise to really get me into shape and the usability leaves much to be desired. I’m an avid gamer, and have a two-and-a-half month old baby. I need to lose the last 10 lbs or so of pregnancy weight, so the launch of EA Sports Active is coming out at just the right time for me. I’m sure many of you are curious about the product and how effective it can be in a real world setting, so I’ve decided to blog my “30 Day Challenge”. I’m bravely going public with my actual weight, age and not-so-flattering “before” pictures – please, be kind! Hopefully you’ll find it interesting and informative, and the virtual support can only help my chances of success. I’ll be posting my initial impressions, weekly progress summaries and a final review at the end of the challenge.

About Me: I’m a 34 year old mom of four, ages 9 to two-and-a-half months. I’m also an avid gamer and technology enthusiast.
Why EA Sports Active: Like a lot of busy moms, I have a hard time setting aside time to exercise. I work at home as a child care provider, which is a 50 hour work week without regular breaks. Finding time to go to a gym is next to impossible, not to mention that with the addition of a new baby a monthly gym membership and occasional child care is a financial stretch. An exercise program that I can do at home any time of day is perfect for me right now.
Starting Stats: My starting weight is 132 lbs, which is technically a “normal” BMI but is 14 bs over my pre-pregnancy weight. Although I’m on the go all day with the kids, I don’t get any kind of regular exercise. Even though I’m not carrying a lot of extra weight, I feel like I’m in the worst shape of my life – what some people would call “skinny-fat”.
Goals: I don’t have a lot of weight to loose, but my body needs a lot (a lot!) of toning. My goal is to lose 6 lbs (about 4.5% of my body weight) and visibly tone in 30 days.
Diet: I will not be following any special diet plan for the 30 Day Challenge., mainly because I want to be able to fairly evalute the effectiveness of EA Sports Active as a fitness tool. Additionally I am breastfeeding two children, which means [a] I need extra calories and balanced nutrition and [b] I’m perpetually hungry. Although I try to be mindful of what I eat, a diet is just not for me at the moment. I will be following my regular eating habits, which are in general quiet healthy but include week-end pizza nights and a daily dose of chocolate.
I’ll be updating my progress regulary, so check back for updates. If you’re doing the 30 Challenge too, I’d love to hear about your progress. Leave a comment, or follow me on twitter.
3 Comments leave one →
  1. Josh permalink
    May 19, 2009 5:33 pm

    Josh from Feed Your Console here:
    Good luck to you – I’ll be following your progress very closely.

    ;)

  2. Owen&Masen'sMom permalink
    May 21, 2009 12:21 am

    “I will be following my regular eating habits, which are in general quiet healthy but include week-end pizza nights and a daily dose of chocolate.”

    ~Omg, I LOVE that line… we all need a daily dose of chocolate!! I’ll be “whoop-whoopin'” for ya!!!

  3. Maranda permalink
    May 21, 2009 12:50 am

    Usually I have one square of dark chocolate a day. Sometimes two :) It’s a health food, right? Antioxidants and all that…

Leave a Reply

