Skip to content

What I’m Playing [May 6 2010]

May 6, 2010

If you follow me on Twitter, you’ve seen me lamenting my lack of gaming time lately.  Between my 3 year old permanently giving up his afternoon nap – my prime gaming time – and the Mystery Illness zapping my energy and making it impossible for me to sit some nights, I’ve had very little time to game lately.  So, this last week or so, I’ve been playing a lot of iPhone games, which fit this busy Mommy’s schedule perfectly.

We Rule

After much mocking, I finally  jumped on the We Rule bandwagon.  I don’t play Facebook games and am not that much of a causal gamer really, but between watching Jeff play it, seeing it pop up on Twitter and this review on AppJudgment, I caved in a gave it a try.  It’s surprisingly fun, and not that addictive.  Yeah, I play it 4-6 times a day, but only for a few minutes at a time.  The social interaction is fun, and even though there’s not really an objective per se, it’s a nice relaxing break in the day.  I love clicking on my subjects and hearing their pigeony-gibberish comments or checking out the designs of my friends kingdoms.  Best of all it’s free, which suits my budget quite nicely TYVM.  If you’re playing, add HotelQueen to your friends list!

Angry Birds

Really, if you have an iPhone and $0.99 you need to buy Angry Birds.  It’s an old school artillery style game with a crazy premise that has you hurling birds from a slingshot to take down pigs.  Why?  Because the pigs have stolen the birds eggs, of course!  Yes it’s silly, but it has awesome physics, a great art style, tons of variety and an exorbitant amount of levels.  The levels are nice and short, a perfect bite-size gaming experience, and the star rating system and achievements have me instantly replaying levels.  I’ll be playing this one for a long time.  According to their website, Angry Birds is the best selling paid app in pretty much every country on the planet, and for good reason.  Quite possibly the best iPhone game  ever, and a steal at only $0.99.

Alan Wake

I’ve had a  chance to play a little bit of Alan Wake with Jeff, and it is aaaaaaaaaaaahmazing!  Gorgeous graphics and immersive game play, this game has been in development forever but it was worth the wait.  We’re not too far in, and I don’t want to give anything away, but suffice to say you’re going to want to get your hands on this one when it comes out May 18th.

That’s all for this week; let me know what you’re playing in the comments.  And uh, you’re going to add me in We Rule, right? ;)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 6, 2010 1:45 pm

    I’ve played the crap out of Angry Birds in the couple weeks I’ve had it. I didn’t think I would bother going back and trying to get 3 stars on all levels, but I have been, and it’s been just as fun as the first time. It’s hard to believe it’s only a 99 cents!

    Alan Wake – WANT! I can hardly believe it’s almost here. I remember seeing the teaser trailer for it the year the Xbox 360 was announced at E3. That must have been 5 years ago now. I’ve cut back my gaming habits in a big way and am budgeting my time, as well as my money. It looks like Alan Wake will be the game I’m playing next.

  2. May 6, 2010 1:55 pm

    I almost never replay levels in anything, but if I only get one star I find myself instantly trying again. The levels are so short, it’s hard to resist trying “just one more time”. It’s going to take me forever to finish it at this rate, and that’s OK with me!

Leave a Reply

