Skip to content

Banana Ice Cream

May 11, 2010
tags: ,

I’ve meaning to try this for a long time, and today I finally did.  I made delicious and nutritious “ice cream” for the kids, and it turned out great!  A total breeze to make and they absolutely loved it.

Click through for the directions if you want, but it’s so super easy it doesn’t even require a recipe.  Take some of those frozen, ripe bananas you have stashed in the freezer to one day make banana bread with.  Peel, chop and toss them into your food processor or blender.  I used my Magic Bullet (<3) which worked ok, but b/c it’s thick I did have to open and stir a few times.  A food processor would be ideal.  Process until it’s smooth and creamy, a good few minutes, and be amazed as the bananas magically transform into ice cream!

I hate bananas, but it looked so good I had to try it… totally delicious!  The kids thought it was an awesome treat too.  I’ll definitely be adding this to our snack time repertoire for summer!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 12, 2010 3:42 pm

    This is a great idea! I have bananas in the freezer begging to be used! Thank you for sharing!

  2. Saga permalink
    May 17, 2010 2:26 pm

    Leave it to me to manage to screw something this simple up… but yeah, I did!

    Mine turned out nothing like the picture (not even close, lol) so it ended up as a base for a smoothie. Guess I’ll have to keep trying with the remaining frozen bananas that are in my freezer :)

    • May 17, 2010 2:28 pm

      Oh no! I made it again yesterday and it worked quite well, although maybe I didn’t stress that you have to process it for a pretty long time. It goes from chunky to mixed up and then it turns creamy. Hopefully it was delicious anyways!

      I also have a bunch of bananas in my freezer, this is great way to use them up!

Leave a Reply

