Skip to content

Meal Plan Monday – May 24

May 24, 2010

Since I meal plan every two weeks anyway, I decided to join up with http://orgjunkie.com/ this week and share my menu.  If you’re new to meal planning, you can check out Meal Planning 101.  In short, with four kids and a full time job, it’s the only way we’d ever eat!

In general, my menu is based on what’s in season, what’s on sale, what we have on hand (it’s time to eat up all that pasta sauce in the freezer) and the weather.  It’s supposed to be beautiful out, so we’ll be BBQ-ing a lot!  Chicken is on sale, including the pre-seasoned BBQ flavoured stuff my kids like, so we’ll have that a few times.

I actually do my planning on the week-end, so mine starts Sunday.  I usually leave one meal as “whatever”, which is when we eat up leftovers or have something simple like sandwiches and salad.  I usually plan a few meals with rice close together, so I only have to make it once, plus I can keep some extra for a night we’re having potatoes since two of my kids don’t eat potatoes [I now, weird eh?].

Two Week Menu:

Sunday:  BBQed burgers (beef and soy), mashed potatoes, corn on the cob, asparagus, salad

Monday:  Black bean soup, olive bread, salad

Tuesday:  BBQed chicken tournedos, asparagus, peppers, basmatti rice

Wednesday:  Butter chicken, samosas (I buy these at the indian grocer), basmatti rice, naan

Thursday:  Freezer meal (chicken parmesan), salad

Friday:  Pizza night/Friday Fun Night

Saturday:  BBQed chicken pieces, asparagus, peppers, rice, potatoes, salad

Sunday:  Pasta Primavera with chicken and vegetables

Monday:  Vegetable lasagna

Tuesday:  Mediterranean pasta with roasted vegetables and olives

Wednesday:  Macaronni and cheese with hidden veggies and salad (recipe coming soon!)

Thursday:  Creamy chicken noodle soup (slow cooker)

Friday:  Pizza night/Friday Fun Night

Saturday:  Leftovers/whatever we have on hand

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 24, 2010 10:21 am

    Hey! Visiting from Menu Plan Monday!
    God bless!
    ~Hannah
    http://preparingforourchildrensfuture.blogspot.com/

  2. May 24, 2010 10:22 am

    Hey! Visiting from Menu Plan Monday!
    Your menu sounds sooo Yummy!
    God bless!
    ~Hannah

  3. May 24, 2010 3:59 pm

    Maranda- I would love to know exactly what goes into your Mediterranean pasta. It sounds wonderful.

    When I make rice, I make it in HUGE batches and then freeze it in 1/2 cup “rice balls” for easy defrosting with later meals. I do the same thing when I’m cooking beans. It really saves time in the long run.

    Cheers!
    Jillian

    • May 24, 2010 4:09 pm

      Thanks Jillian, I will put it in an upcoming post. Everyone loves it and it’s super simple!

      I haven’t had luck freezing rice, I find it gets freezer burned easily. Perhaps I’m not storing it properly?

  4. May 25, 2010 3:34 pm

    I really try to meal plan, but the most I ever manage is a week, good job on doing 2 weeks at a time. Following from blog flow, looking forward to reading more of your posts.

Trackbacks

  1. Yay, iPad! « adventures of a mom, geek, gamer

Leave a Reply

