Skip to content

Yay, iPad!

May 30, 2010

image from apple.ca

Friday was the international iPad launch, and first thing Friday morning Jeff was at our local Best Buy, surprising me with one for the family.  I’ve been really keen to get one, but we had planned on waiting a while… so I was super excited to get it!

It’s only been two days, but already all of us are enjoying it immensely.  We’re an “Apple Family” and buy all our media through iTunes, so it’s great to have another device to play our tv, movies, podcasts, etc. on.  Right now we have one tv with an Apple TV device, and the adults and two older kids have iPods.  The iPad has a gorgeous screen for viewing, it’s really an ideal way to watch programming.  All the iPhone apps work, and the little two have had fun with their flashcards and other kid apps.  Disney also has great interactive story books for pre-schoolers, which Oliver is loving.

This morning, I took the iPad to Oliver’s gymnastics class and did almost all of tomorrow’s blog post while I was waiting.  With no multi-tasking or pointing device, adding links is not easy so I’ll do that later on PC.  However the keyboard is great, and I found it really easy to type my post up quite quickly.  I’m using the WordPress iPad app, which is exactly the same as the iPhone app.  I wish it had some additional functionality, like stat info, but it is a nice easy way to do up posts.  Beats typing on the iPhone, which I routinely do!

This afternoon is my cooking time, and I’m really looking forward to being able to watch a movie or some podcasts while I’m making my meals for the week.  I usually spend 1-3 hours making or prepping our meals on Sunday afternoon, and although I’m not a huge tv watcher, this is the time when I could really go for a Glee re-run or the umpteenth viewing of Fame or Hairspray.  Today I’m actually looking forward to meal prep!

That being said, I think my lasagna noodles are done and I still have 1kg of cheese to grate… guess I’d better get to it :)  Hope everyone is having a wonderful week-end.  And if any Canadian friends out there got theirs on Friday, let me know what you think!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 31, 2010 3:31 pm

    So, I’m still not 100% sold on the idea of an iPad. It sounds like a really good fit for you, but I’m curious how much use Jeff (a guy more tied down to desks) will get out of it. I encourage you both to post your opinions on the device, specifically on how you use it, in a month or so!

    I want to like it, I really do!

  2. May 31, 2010 4:02 pm

    It is definitely a nice-to-have and not a need. I think if you’re one person with a computer and a smartphone or netbook, you probably wouldn’t get your money’s worth out of it (although it would still be really cool). For us, I know we will get a lot of use out of it, as a netbook replacement, gaming platform and extra media device. I’ve been really itching for a tv for the kitchen, and this is a perfect solution for that alone. I also don’t have access to our PC during the day, so it’s nice to have something to type a larger message on.

    I am definitely going to do a post in a few weeks, in which I’ll talk about how it’s fitting into our lifestyle and what we’re using it for. Between oliver and I, I think we’ll get a lot of use out of it. I don’t know how much jeff will use it during the week, but since we don’t have a PC on the main floor i could see him using it for podcasts on the week end. I will ask him about doing a mini review too, great idea!

  3. Jeff permalink
    May 31, 2010 10:52 pm

    I will absolutely commit to reviewing the iPad after 30 days, Justin. In fact I think it’s a great idea! You’re right about being tied to a desk for a majority of the day. I’m very rarely *not* sitting in front of a computer. That said, it’s for precisely that reason that I love the iPad so much. It allows me the digital access that I so dearly crave while allowing me the mobility to be anywhere I choose. The iPhone was good at this, but the iPad is great.

    I don’t want to give away all my thoughts now, I’ll save them for the review.

    (this comment written on, you guessed it, an iPad.)

Leave a Reply

