Skip to content

How To Make Your Own Produce Wash

June 2, 2010

works for me wednesday at we are that family

In light of my recent post on a link between pesticides and ADHD, I thought I’d share with you my recipe for cleaning produce.  Super simple and much less expensive to make than the store bought stuff, plus it’s all natural.  I use on all my fruit and vegetables to remove dirt, wax and pesticides.  Don’t use on mushrooms, and they are particularly porous and will soak up too much solution.

Produce Wash:

1 cup vinegar
1 cup water
20 drops grapefruit seed extract or 1 tablespoon lemon juice

Mix all ingredients thoroughly and put in a spray bottle.  Spray produce, let stand 5-10 minutes, rinse.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2010 10:49 am

    This looks awesome! It’s amazing how many uses vinegar has!

  2. Bonnie permalink
    June 2, 2010 11:05 am

    This is great Maranda. Thanks for this. I have also passed it along to some friends. I will be trying it out this week.

  3. June 2, 2010 1:18 pm

    Thanks!

    Just wanted to add that this (obviously) won’t have suds like some of the commercial sprays do. Some have SLS added, which is a chemical to make things lather. Things can still be clean without suds ;)

  4. June 2, 2010 2:55 pm

    Thanks for the simple idea! I will be making some this week to try out.
    Stopping by from WFMW

  5. June 2, 2010 8:33 pm

    I love it, thanks! Stopping by from blog flow!

  6. sarah permalink
    June 9, 2010 12:13 pm

    thanks Maranda. do you feel confident this removes/breaks down the pesticides?

    • June 9, 2010 6:58 pm

      I don’t know that there’s anything we can do to completely remove pesticides, but grapefruit seed extract and vinegar are both great natural cleaners, and the grapefruit seed extract has natural antibiotic properties. I’m confident that this works at least as well as the commercial cleaners, without the added SLS or other undesirable ingredients.

Leave a comment