Skip to content

Coffeehouse Style Scones

June 9, 2010

After posting fresh-from-the-oven pics on Facebook and Twitter yesterday, I had numerous requests for my scone recipe. I’ve never made scones before, but they’re a favourite treat of mine and with a scone pan on loan from Jenn, I could’t resist giving it a try. Turns out they’re remarkably easy and pretty quick to make. Here is my recipe for coffeehouse style scones.

[Note, this is not one of my super stealthy recipes with hidden spinach and beans; this is a make at nap time and hide in the top cupboard refined carb mommy needs a treat today recipe]

Coffeehouse Style Scones with Olives and Feta Cheese

Ingredients:
4 cups pastry flour
1/4 cup white sugar
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup cold butter
11/2 cups buttermilk (or milk with 2 tbsp vinegar added)

1 cup sliced black olives
2/3 cup crumbled feta cheese
2 tbs finely chopped fresh oregano
Feel free to substitute with about 1 1/2 cups ingredients of your choice

Combine dry ingredients in large bowl; mix well. Cut in butter in small chunks, using two knives, until mixture resembles fine bread crumbs. Slowly add milk, and combine by hand until just mixed. You may not need all the milk. Add olives, cheese and oregano and mix until distributed, being careful not to over mix.

Place dough on floured surface and knead lightly. Roll and cut into circles, or better yet, drop batter into a scone pan. Seriously, you need to get one these things.

Brush with milk and bake at 400F 16-20 minutes, until golden on top.

Makes 18-24 small to medium sized scones.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. June 9, 2010 10:55 am

    It sounds yummy. My family will enjoy this so much. Thanks for sharing.

  2. June 9, 2010 12:29 pm

    I am always looking for yummy savory treats, since I tend toward sweets. These sound perfect and look delish. Thanks for sharing.

  3. June 9, 2010 8:25 pm

    Wow, those look inredible! I suppose a bit of refined carbs now and then won’t do us in. Here from Blog Flow. http://www.wanderlustlust.com

    • June 17, 2010 2:24 pm

      Thanks! We don’t normally eat refined carbs either, but my SO accidentally bought white pastry flour so rather than take it back to the store I thought I might as well make something tasty… I just don’t let the kids eat it!

  4. June 14, 2010 9:28 am

    Tried these this weekend at the potluck! They were amazing!!!! Thanks for sending them

  5. June 22, 2010 4:00 pm

    These look fantastic! I was just telling my husband yesterday that I wanted to take a stab at making some scones – I love scones! This recipe seems pretty straight forward, and sounds very yummy too.

    Blog Flow following.

    • June 22, 2010 4:08 pm

      They are easy! I was intimidated by scones for a long time, and now i wonder why. Give it a go!

  6. July 17, 2010 10:28 am

    Thank you for the recipe. I was on a comfort food binge for a time. Now I must pay. I agree with the white flour comments, but most comfort foods seem to call for it. There is a recipe on my blog for Irish Soda Bread with a link to the online recipe. It is very different from quick breads Americans indulge in. It’s simple to make, also. I haven’t baked Irish Soda Bread in a while. I must wait. But I will get there again. The scones I would love to bake right now. I must wait for those as well.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Coffeehouse Style Scones « adventures of a mom, geek, gamer -- Topsy.com
  2. Recipes! « adventures of a mom, geek, gamer

Leave a Reply

