Skip to content

Pesto Pasta

June 23, 2010

Here’s a quick and easy lunch recipe, using previously prepared pesto.  I have never made pesto until my last batch cooking day with Jenn, and turns out it’s super easy.  She used my Magic Bullet blender (have I already mentioned a billion times how much I love this thing?) and it was a breeze.  I froze my pesto in ice cube trays for easy thawing and portioning later on.  So here’s the easy pasta dish we’re having for lunch (ProTip: I cook my pasta in the morning while doing the breakfast routine) and also the pesto recipe.

[If you’re new here, I’m not much of a measurer, so just eyeball it so that it looks good to you]

Easy Pesto Pasta

A few turns of olive oil
1 Medium onion, chopped
Approximately 3/4 cup pesto
1 375g box of pasta (I use whole grain penne)

In a large skillet, warm the olive oil and add onion.  Sauté a few minutes until onions are translucent.  Add pesto and warm (stir often if using frozen cubes).  When warm and fragrant, add pasta and stir until coated and warmed.  Add a bit more olive oil or pesto if required. Garnish with as much parmesan cheese as your diet/palate allows and pine nuts if you wish.

Pesto Recipe

This great recipe comes from Jenn, I’m just sharing it with you ;)

2 cups firmly packed basil leaves
3/4 cup grated parmesan cheese
1/4 cups pine nuts
1/2 cup olive oil

4 cloves garlic

Place all ingredients in a blender or food processor.  Cover and blend on medium speed until smooth, about three minutes, stopping occasionally to scrape sides. Freezes well if you can wait that long… it smells SO delicious!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 23, 2010 4:23 pm

    Second the deliciousness of the pesto, it was AWESOME!!!

  2. Tish permalink
    June 24, 2010 2:43 pm

    Sounds delicious, I’ve only ever bought pesto before. I should try it.

  3. June 25, 2010 8:27 am

    Stopping by from NFF…this sounds GREAT! I used to eat pesto all the time and I kinda forgot about it. I gotta buy some at the store this weekend! Thanks for the idea!

    • June 25, 2010 8:41 am

      It’s a nice thing to have on hand for whipping up a quick dinner or appetizer. Good on flatbread too, yum.

  4. June 30, 2010 11:09 pm

    Oh my gosh this sounds SOOO good! I’m STARVING lol!

    I love your blog :) I also practice attachment parenting and my hubby is a big gamer so I’ve gotten more into it since I’ve known him.

    I look forward to reading more-following you from blog flow! :)

Leave a Reply

