Skip to content

Top Five Reasons I Can’t Wait For Summer Break

June 25, 2010

Everywhere I turn I see status updates and convos of moms who are dreading summer break.  “Oh no, only two more days of school!” “Oh no, the kids are going to be home all day!” and even though I’m sure some of them are half in jest, it makes me a little sad.  Personally I can’t wait for summer break.  Yes it will be busy, and yes it will be loud, but I love having the kids home every day.  Here are some great reasons why I am SO GLAD to see the end of school!

  1. No more morning rush No more hectic mornings making sure everyone is up, fed, dressed, packed up and out the door by 7:40 a.m.  No more chasing, checking, yelling, mini lecturing, reminding, repeating, broken record-ing rush-rush-rush-ing five days a week.  For the next two months, I’m starting my mornings in a calm, leisurely fashion.  Perhaps even with a hot cup of coffee.  It’s possible.
  2. No more homework The best reason of all, and the biggest reason we’re ALL looking forward to summer break – no more homework!  No more nightly battles, no more kitchen table covered in photocopies and duo-tangs, no more school work sucking up precious family time.  We can now spend the time between after work and bedtime together.  Amazing!
  3. Extra hands around the house Yes, I will be making more meals and snacks (well sort of, more at once anyway), coming up with more activities and subject to a whole lot more noise, but in return I get two more sets of hands to pick up the baby, unload the dishwasher and go get the mail.  My boys are super helpful and love to play with their younger siblings.  Even just having my 8 year old around to play cars with the toddlers takes a bit of a load of me.   Sometimes they’ll even make me a cup of tea!  It’s wonderful.
  4. Companionship This might not apply to everyone, but I work at home 10 hours a day, and having the older kids around gives me someone to talk to.  No, they’re not adults but they’re old enough now to talk about things that interest all of us.  Or to laugh with me when one of the little kids does something funny.  Or to say “It’s okay” and give me a hug if I’m having a bad day.  It’s something that I’m missing on a daily basis, and I’m really looking forward to having their company all summer.
  5. More family time Without homework sucking up most of our free week night time, and with the boys able to get their chores (and some of mine) out of the way during the day, we’re going to have a whole lot more family time on a regular basis.  Throw in a few long week-ends and some vacation days, and we’re able to do all the things we don’t have time for during the school year.  Outings, activities… heck, maybe even a walk around the block after dinner!

So I’m just as excited as the kids for today to come to an end, for them to come home from school for the last time for two months, and for our exciting summer to begin.   Although today, I am totally going to enjoy one last quiet nap time… while I can.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 25, 2010 1:54 am

    It’s really pleasant to hear you’re just as excited for the break as the kids are. I hear so many crappy parents (IMO) who can’t wait to get their kids back to school the minute they’re out. Makes me happy to see some still like to spend time with theirs. :)

    • June 25, 2010 6:57 am

      Seriously, I can’t wait. On Monday we’re making big lists of things we want to do this summer :)

      And you KNOW there will be summer family D&D sessions!

  2. Sarah permalink
    June 25, 2010 8:11 am

    I loved reading this Maranda. I’m so happy that summer has arrived for you. Have fun! Hope to see you on one of your less busy days :)

    • June 25, 2010 8:43 am

      Thanks Sarah! Looking forward to it for sure… You guys should come for a play date. I can’t believe how much Aemon has changed, he’s not a little babe anymore. Would be great to see you

  3. Angie permalink
    June 25, 2010 11:25 am

    Hate homework…Love fam time!! Yay, summer!

  4. June 25, 2010 4:50 pm

    Oh, I don’t even know how my little girl will do in school. She’s around me 24/7 still, so I guess I don’t know which kind of mom I’ll want to be. I hope you have fun with your kids though and enjoy them while you can.

    Extra hands must be such a beautiful thing sometimes!

  5. June 25, 2010 6:49 pm

    I’m with you. I’ve always looked forward to summer vacation, both when I was a kid myself and now that I have kids. I have children aged 10 to 16 and I’m SO GLAD TO NOT BE DEALING WITH HOMEWORK!!! Honestly I feel like such a mean mom during the school year. Then there is getting two teenagers up in the morning and onto the school bus by 6:50 — UGH. At first I was a bit worried about loosing some of my ‘me time’ but the kids seldom wander out of their rooms before noon, well the 10 year old does but that is it.

    There is a bit of frustration about food…it keeps disappearing far faster than it did during the school year. My kids always go through a growth spurt in the summer. The worst part is the “I’m bored” part. I dread those two words. I banned those two words…the kids just came up with new ways to say it. sigh.

    I also feel like I get the better side of their moods during the summer. During the school year it always seems like they are nice all day at school and by the time they get home I get the cranky child…lucky me. Now with well rested kids I get to enjoy spending time with them.

  6. Annieb25 permalink
    June 26, 2010 8:22 am

    I always loved school holidays for the exact same reasons as you do. So nice to have a break in the routine and so so so very nice to not have to run around in the mornings trying to get everything done. Here in Australia our kids wear school uniforms and I loved not having to iron them each day. Both my boys have finished school now and I don’t miss all that stuff! I do miss having them home during the holidays though.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Top Five Reasons I Can’t Wait For Summer Break « adventures of a mom, geek, gamer -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

