Skip to content

Summer Lists

June 30, 2010

I borrowed a great idea from clever Jenn and had the kids make “summer lists” yesterday. It was a really fun activity (that filled nap time quite nicely, TYVM) and gives us all some things to look forward to this summer.

Three year old Oliver had some help, but wrote a few of the numbers and chose the stickers. He did his on construction paper, but the bigger kids were given poster board. My 8 year old did a mix of pictures and written items and my 10 year old in true Haden-style drew an elaborate set of images that contain his lists. He doesn’t ever colour, so it didn’t photograph that well, but i managed to capture some of the best parts. He drew the Xbox 360 dashboard, a DS, an iPod, an Xbox controller with chat pad and a Wii box. Since writing this post he has also done a DS game case, cut out and bound, with a summary of all the items. The handheld version, if you will.

I didn’t do an artsy craftsy list, but I did do some thinking about what I’d like to do this summer. Now I could make a list that reads “clean out walk in closet, paint baseboards”  – that would be true Maranda-style – but I decided to break out of my box a little and plan to do some things that are actually fun. Wish me luck!


So here, in no particular order, is my Summer List:

  • Go to the drive-in (ok, we already did this once, but it wasn’t “summer” yet, good excuse to go again)
  • Go for a grown up patio dinner at the Black Dog in Manotick
  • Take the kids for ice cream at the old country store on the way to Smiths Falls
  • Eat Greco’s pizza
  • See a 3D movie in a theatre
  • Sew something for myself
  • Go to PAX!  I’ve got my tickets, can’t wait to attend!

So my list involves a lot of food, but that’s ok right?  Item number two involves leaving all four kids with a babysitter for the first time ever.  That will be a big deal for me, probably less so for them.  I think I’m ready?  I know I’m ready to eat out somewhere with real napkins and where they don’t give you crayons for your place mat.

We’re all looking forward to crossing things off our lists, big and small.  What’s on your list this summer?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 30, 2010 10:20 am

    ‘sew something for myself’ That one is on my list too!!! Too bad there’s a HUGE pile of stuff for the kids and a few gifts infront of the ‘myself’ project!!!

    • June 30, 2010 10:58 am

      Aprons!

      Oh the things I think are exciting… sew an apron?! LOL

  2. Mary Lou permalink
    June 30, 2010 10:55 am

    I love this project, Maranda! Last fall we did a “school lunch” list during dinner one night. However, sadly, the exercise devolved and I can summarize their wishes in one word: processed. Not what I was going for. As Sam says, “Fail.”

    I’m happy to see that your exercise worked out.

    • June 30, 2010 10:58 am

      Oh maybe I’ll do the lunch list in the fall, that’s a good idea. We’re still using the one I did when Haden was in Grade 1!

  3. July 5, 2010 1:09 pm

    I love this list idea!! And swimming should be #1 this summer. ;)

    And welcome to TMC!! Glad you joined us!

    • July 5, 2010 2:02 pm

      Thanks Theta Mom!

      We’re having fun with our lists already, including me :0 It’s nice to have some things to look forward to during the long days of summer.

  4. July 26, 2010 4:14 pm

    I am in love with this. I’m going to make lists with my kids after I get something going in the slow cooker! You’re my newest stalking victim.

Leave a Reply

