Skip to content

Beating the heat in the kitchen

July 6, 2010

If you live anywhere on the east coast, I don’t have to tell you it is HOT.  Here in Ottawa it’s been about 45C with the humidex [that’s about 113F for my Metrically challenged friends in the US].  I saw lots of moms on Twitter yesterday swapping “what’s for dinner?” tweets, since no one wants to turn on the oven in this weather.  Salad for dinner isn’t a bad idea for some of us, but you won’t find too many kids excited over that one.  Well I have a novel approach to beat-the-heat cooking:  I use my slow cooker.  Yep, you read that right, that thing you associate with winter’s chili and stews, that thing.  It takes minimal effort and doesn’t require heating up the house.  Add that salad as a side dish and you have a great low effort meal in your nice cool kitchen.  So go haul it out of the back of your cupboard, and try out a couple of my favourite slow cooker recipes.  I’ll post them separately for your bookmarking pleasure.

Slow Cooker Mini Potatoes with Carmelized Onions

Slow Cooker Mexican Chicken

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2010 1:33 pm

    Love the slow cooker!!!

  2. July 7, 2010 8:55 pm

    I love my slow cooker and use it often – winter or summer! I can’t wait to try out the Mexican Chicken recipe, it looks so easy to make and tasty!

    • July 8, 2010 7:49 am

      Glad I’m not the only one! It sounds weird at first, but it actually makes a lot of sense. The Mexican Chicken is one recipe that all six of us really like; hope you enjoy.

      Thanks for visiting!

  3. July 8, 2010 11:35 am

    Wow, and I thought it was hot here on Long Island (103 degrees–and I am metrically challenged) but it sounds like it was terrible up there!
    Thanks for the reminder to use my crockpot. I don’t know why I don’t think of it more often!

  4. July 26, 2010 3:50 pm

    I have to say that is a novel idea. You’re a genius! Thanks for that, I’m gonna go bust out the crock pot now.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Beating the heat in the kitchen « adventures of a mom, geek, gamer -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

