Skip to content

Slow Cooker Mexican Chicken

July 6, 2010

This is a very kid friendly meal and very simple to make.  I usually serve over rice [cooked in my rice steamer, no turning on the stove required!] or wrap it up in large tortillas for “lazy fajitas”.

Slow Cooker Mexican Chicken

Ingredients:

1 lb. boneless skinless chicken breasts, cut into strips
1/2 envelope taco seasoning mix
2 tbsp flour
1 each: green and red pepper, cut into strips
1 cup frozen corn
1-1/2 cups  salsa
1 cup grated cheese

Directions:

Toss chicken with seasoning and flour in slow cooker. Stir in vegetables and salsa; cover.

Cook on LOW 6 to 8 hours (or on HIGH 3 to 4 hours); stir. Serve on rice, topped with cheese.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2010 5:48 pm

    This looks great and something my family would enjoy! Thanks for posting! (I found your blog over at WFMW linky)!

    • July 8, 2010 7:52 am

      Thanks Nikki! I’ve found a few good recipes through linkys lately myself. I always feel like I’ve hit the jackpot when i find a new one we enjoy. Cooking to feed a crowd is quite a job!

  2. July 7, 2010 8:20 pm

    That sounds similar to a recipe I make, but I’m going to try it with the taco seasoning & flour. Thanks! :)

    • July 8, 2010 7:46 am

      I used to make a similar recipe (I think from Chatelaine?) but it was much more wet than this. This one works much better for wraps, which is a nice option, especially for me since I have a boy who doesn’t like rice. This recipe is a favourite around here, for sure!

      Thanks for stopping by!

  3. July 23, 2010 3:06 pm

    Love slow-cooker recipes! Thanks for a good one!

Trackbacks

  1. Beating the heat in the kitchen « adventures of a mom, geek, gamer

Leave a Reply

