Skip to content

Who do you write like?

July 17, 2010

I write like
Stephen King

I Write Like by Mémoires, Mac journal software. Analyze your writing!

Just for fun today, “I Write Like” supposedly analyzes your writing and tells you which author your style resembles. Integrates with all your favourite social media sites, so you can compare with your friends.  Totally fun, give it a try. Apparently my blog posts are scary and creepy because I write like Stephen King. I’ll totally take that as a compliment.

Enjoy this little end of week distraction!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 17, 2010 10:18 am

    Dean Koontz is one of my favorite authors because his writing can make me turn the page when I really have more urgent things to do. I like suspense so, no doubt, if you write like Stephen King, I would be turning your pages. I know he is a writer of suspense, or am I wrong? But I do have to confess that I haven’t read a Stephen King novel yet.

    Now to your question. Who do I write like? I really don’t know. The two authors I have read the most are Dean Koontz and Sue Grafton. If one could combine those two influences, maybe it would be me. Not sure. Maybe I write like no one else, which, I will admit, could be good or not good. Ha!

    I shall subscribe and read your writings.

  2. July 19, 2010 8:14 am

    I haven’t gotten around to reading much of King’s novels, but have you read his On Writing? It’s amazing. He really nails down and describes the writing process. A fave of mine.

  3. July 20, 2010 3:31 pm

    a) i am totally sure you read a ton of stephen king in high school, i remember. and b) i noticed that the content of what you put into the who do you write like thing affects the outcome. i tried a sample of something i wrote about Twilight and got H.P. Lovecraft as the writer – a horror, fantasy writer. non-vampire blog posts etc did not generate that guy!

    • July 20, 2010 3:39 pm

      I think The Stand might be one of my favourite books of all time. His horror stuff not as much. And yes, I did my grade 10 book report on The Talisman.

      I don’t know how much actual science or analytics is actually behind this thing, but it’s a fun exercise.

Leave a Reply

