Skip to content

This is what 11 looks like

July 18, 2010

My eldest son turned eleven this week-end.  My sweet baby boy, who first made me a mother, who instantly made me sure this was the right journey for me, who made motherhood so easy and so delightful.  This one is an old soul, was born wise beyond his years, and is not only a wonderful son but an amazing big brother to his little siblings.  We’ve been through lots of changes; four cities and many more moves, family ups, downs and expansions, and he handles everything so serenely, that I’m sometimes envious.

I look at his baby sister, who is so much like him and realize how fast the time has gone.  Everyone says it, but you don’t understand how true it is until you have your own children.  Seems like just yesterday, he was the happy little baby is my arms, gleefully chattering away to anyone (and anything) that would stand still long enough to listen.  Now he’s holding her, enjoying her, experiencing all the delightful ins and outs of her personality, so much like his.

I try not to be too wistful and nostalgic today, as he is growing into such a wonderful boy and is so much fun to be around.  I look forward to the day that we will be not only mother and son, but friends.  Because he is certainly the kind of young man I want to be friends with.

At the end of the day, as I stared lovingly into his eyes, thinking about the day he was born and all that has happened to bring us to today, I felt the tears welling up… and he looked up at me, so sweetly, smiled and said:  “Only two more years until I’m a teenager!”

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 18, 2010 5:03 pm

    There is a special bond between mother and son. What a handsome boy, such expressive eyes! I enjoyed reading your post.

  2. sarah rahmer permalink
    July 19, 2010 6:43 am

    glad you used my favourite pic – he’s such a good-looking boy.

    • July 19, 2010 9:04 am

      Thanks Sarah. He’s got the personality to go with it too :)

  3. July 19, 2010 8:09 am

    You’ve described perfectly what I often feel too. I can go along merrily for days and then all of a sudden I will see — really “see” — that my daughter is really growing up. She is no longer a little child, but a big kid. It really does take a mother’s breath away, doesn’t it? (p.s. I agree that you son is absolutely gorgeous!)

    • July 19, 2010 9:13 am

      Thanks Julie!

      It really seems to happen all of a sudden sometimes. My friend said “can you not already see the teenager in there?” and it’s so true.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention This is what 11 looks like « adventures of a mom, geek, gamer -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

